The Beer Archives: Potosi Holiday Bock, December 2014

12-2014_potosiholiday_v2

So… here’s the thing about this. My original design for this beer was deemed a bit much for a family crowd. I was “working blue,” apparently. In truth, I was just being lazy and the female silhouette I utilized was better suited to a trucker’s mudflaps. So this was my replacement, and it’s better. Frosty has an implacable expression that I admire and often attempt to emulate without success.

While there are varying explanations as to the origins of the term “working blue,” my 1960 copy of the Dictionary of American Slang (compiled and edited by Wentworth and Flexner, bless ’em) suggests that the connection with lewdness may arise from the fact that “the color of blue is associated with burning brimstone.” Seems as good an explanation as any.

Leave a Reply

